Stop Thinking!!!!

OK.

I’m in the first chapter of The Master System. A chapter devoted to thoughts, improvements through the quality of your thoughts. Understanding the natural power of your thoughts…and I failed.

Two days in to a 24 week goal and I failed.

Details aren’t important now, but suffice to say by 6pm yesterday, I was frustrated, irate, irked, vexed, and you can probably drop a little anger into the mix too..

So.. What to do? Think positively?.. I tried.. I really tried. I couldn’t.

My frustration grew. I knew this was no good. It wasn’t constructive but I just couldn’t stop thinking about it. Then came guilt over failing to stop thinking about it. Then came more frustration from feeling guilty. Then more guilt…Classic pink elephant syndrome.. Don’t think about a pink elephant….Ah bugger…

My thoughts were raging. My thoughts were feral, they hissed and spat at me every time I approached them in an attempt to tame them.

I couldn’t control them… But I was aware of them. My guilt was over my inability to stop them, but then I remembered my awareness of them. I was beating myself up over nothing..Awareness of them is having some control over them… So I made a decision….

I allowed them in…. I welcomed them, I shook hands with them and told them I was pleased to have them and to make themselves comfortable…. I lulled them into a false sense of security. I told them they could stay as long as they wanted…I joked with them, I played games with them, then I told them to go wait in the car and I’d be there in a minute… All of a sudden I fancied a night in…

I can still hear them beeping from time to time, but I can’t quite make out what they are saying.. I’m sure they’ll get the message soon though.

Regardless of the fact it was now 2am and I’d tossed and turned and found the cold side of the pillow 7 times, it had worked.

I hadn’t failed after all… It was a triumph. I was a triumph. I’d just flicked through the brochure of my mind and stopped at the pages I wanted. I’d just controlled my mind! I’m a mind controlling genius… A little optimistic there maybe…. but, I’m going to be good at this…

I’m going to be great…

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Steve Walters
    Feb 24, 2011 @ 11:50:22

    Sounds an interesting read Bethan. I was a little confused though, how much of your effort/solution was a result of the chapter you’ve read?

    I’d like to hear more about the book; it sounds right up my street. Does it give you tools/methods/steps to try out? or does it drone on about theory only? is the book interesting/easy to read? or is it in depth and off putting?

    Sorry for the questions, but as you can tell, I’m interested!

    PS. What’s your Web Stats like with WordPress? does it tell you what keywords people typed to arrive at your page?

    Reply

  2. bex
    Feb 24, 2011 @ 12:32:25

    great post, bethanage! i truly think that you triumphed.
    this whole thing about failure is so deceiving – i think that these types of things, thinking positively, it is something that you do actively, nanosecond by nanosecond. take the triumphs where you can and forgive yourself the failures. happy to know that you found the way to do this.

    you will be more than great – you will be brilliant…

    Reply

  3. Moira Pritchard
    Feb 24, 2011 @ 20:39:02

    Brilliant as always. I think the key is you controlling your thoughts & not the other way around. It’s so easy, in a lapse of concentration, to let them take over & ruin any plans that you might have had. It can be done – you’re well on the way to doing it. Using metaphors, like you did, is a great way of dealing with them. Another trick is to think that they really have good intentions & only want the best for you – from that you can start putting a positive spin on any negativity! I teach this sort of stuff but sometimes find it so hard to put it on to practice. As always – I’m very proud of your articulation & will try & trick my thoughts into a false sense of security & send them somewhere where they aren’t so annoying! I, like Steve, am very interested in this book your using! Much love always – Mam

    Reply

  4. aquatom1968
    Feb 24, 2011 @ 21:21:03

    Great post again, Bethan! And yes, you will be great!
    You’re allowed the odd negative thought or two… use them as contrast to the better side of thinking and feeling, but don’t let them control you. Good for you for tricking them!

    Reply

  5. bethanage
    Feb 26, 2011 @ 01:42:02

    Wow, Thank you very much for some truly lovely comments

    Stevenage – I’ll pop over with my copy next week, and show you my search thingies..
    In answer to your question, my solution was a result of me. My work, my effort, my thoughts…. but I wouldn’t have reached that solution so quickly, if at all without reading chapter 1. Chapter 1 planted the seeds in my mind and left them for me to cultivate.. The good news is, what’s growing is perennial…

    Bex- Thank you so much, I will be brilliant, You’ll be brillant… We’ll all be brilliant….Let’s all be brilliant together!..

    Mam – Good advice Mother, thank you…Maybe we will chat more about it over Thursday tea!?

    Aquatom1968 – Thank you also, you are a right.. the occasional negative thought won’t do any harm

    Reply

Leave a Reply

