Will you write me a poem?

I work in Insurance. In fact, I work in Accounts in Insurance, so opportunities to write don’t come along very often. The day started like any other. Monday blues, polite but rushed conversations about the weekend just passed……..

Then an email pinged through from a friend in another department at about 9.30.

“Will you write me a poem?”

My email back…… “What?. Um, we haven’t got that sort of friendship have we?”

“They’re doing a little competition today. You have to write a poem about the events of 2010. Will you write one for me?”

My email back…… “Hell yeah! I’m in!”

So that is how I spent my morning break today. Writing a poem for my friend about the events of 2010. I’m loving the release I get from blogging, so I’ll exploit any opportunity to write these days. My only stipulation was, if it won, I got to post it on here…

It did!. It won!  So here it is. My light-hearted review of 2010 in a poetry nutshell..

The year 2010, started with a bang

We saw the coldest winter since all records began

February saw Katie Price marry Alex Reid

A marriage made in heaven, or a sham based on greed?

Spring arrived, and many thought ‘We’ll book a trip away’

Iceland put an end to that, as the ash cloud came our way

Then we had an election, live debates all full of lies

The result? The Coalition, which we could grow to despise

Vuvuzelas sounded the summer, Jules Rimet was lifted by Spain

Rumours emerged of an album recording, of Take That with Robbie again

The Autumn brought a story, of human survival and true grit

As the World watched the Chilean miners hoisted from the pit

News of a Royal Wedding next year, began to filter our way,

Great news for all us workers as there’s an extra bank holiday

Matt Cardle won the Xfactor, The bookie’s favourite from the start

Gillian Mckeith fainted daily, like she’d been shot with a poisoned dart

The year ended as it started, with ice and cold and snow

And the threat of Amazon ruining Christmas, for nearly everyone I know

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jamie MacKenzie
    Jan 17, 2011 @ 20:18:27

    Nice!

    Reply

  2. Moira Pritchard
    Jan 17, 2011 @ 20:59:07

    Absolutely brilliant!!! What did you win?

    Reply

  3. bethanage
    Jan 17, 2011 @ 21:23:04

    Thanks!
    Nothing, Hancock won some vouchers, offered to split them with me but I said no.

    Reply

    • Moira Pritchard
      Jan 17, 2011 @ 22:57:42

      Well – I guess it’s the taking part & the winning! You’re beginning to scare me – never appreciated just how talented you are. Keep it up lovely.xxx

      Reply

  4. Steve Walters
    Jan 19, 2011 @ 00:08:12

    Bethan, you blow me away with your creative writing; I think that’s fantastic!

    I hope you don’t mind, I’ve copied and pasted your poem into Word applied a nice font to it, titled it “My light-hearted review of 2010 in a poetry nutshell.” and credited it at the end…
    Bethan Pritchard.
    Godmother to Eva Walters.
    19th January 2011.

    I’ll be printing this and framing it onto our stairway wall. It’s a lovely thing for Bec & I to show Eva about the year in which she was born.

    I wouldn’t be surprised if you could earn money from being commissioned to write poems. Remeber, to help your Blog make a success, think about the inclusion of keywords. in this instance… Poetry by Commission and/or Contract a Poet. ha ha.

    Cracking as always!

    Reply

    • bethanage
      Jan 19, 2011 @ 13:12:53

      Wow! Mind!? I don’t mind atall… Don’t feel under any obligation though, but I am very humbled! Thank you very much for your comments etc, they mean alot… I’ve said it before, but it is an absolute privilege to be Eva’s Godmother.

      Reply

  5. Steve Walters
    Jan 19, 2011 @ 17:34:52

    Yeah, showed Bec your printed Poem, she was really impressed also, she said something like “if she doesn’t write a book I’ll eat my hat”. What Hat I don’t know; guess I’ll never see that day as you’re bound to write some kind of book. The sooner the better!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

