Grandmothers will always do the best they can for their grandchildren….

OK,

This is my first post and I think I should start by admitting a secret that only two people know. Myself, and my Grandmother.

My secret?…. When I’m out of the house everyday I ask my Grandmother to look after my cats for me. That’s it. That’s the secret.

My grandmother doesn’t live with me, or nearby, I never see her, but I know she’s been. Everyday.

My grandmother died 5 years ago. But I know she’s been. Everyday.

Whilst its liberating to say that out loud, it now forms part of the external me. The part that others can critique, judge and form an opinion on.

It no longer just exists inside me. The part that only I can critique, judge and form an opinion on.

This bizarre daily statement started 18 months ago when I came home and found my little kitten out on the main road, covered in oil from being stuck under next door’s van. I hadn’t planned to go home as I was due somewhere else. I was indicating to go right, but for some reason I turned left for home first.

As I stood at my front door, I heard a pitiful mieow.  On further inspection I found a pair of scared, inky black eyes staring at me from under the van. I called her, she came and I picked her up. She was trembling, dirty and disorientated. I was now trembling, dirty myself from holding her, and confused….

I didn’t understand how she got there, but I did now understand what made me go home first.

15 minutes later the owner of the van jumped in it and drove away. If I hadn’t gone home at that time, then……….. who knows….

Since that day, every morning when I leave the house, I tell my cats that Nanna will look after them today.

I believe it.

With unfaltering faith I believe it.

I have nothing scientific to back this up. Just a spiritual belief, gut instinct, and faith. Faith, the most important of all. Pure faith that it is so.

I’m not naive or stupid enough to think that it provides  immortality for them, but it gives me peace of mind. Peace of mind that even from beyond the grave, Grandmothers will always do the best they can for their grandchildren.

Thank you Nanna…. God bless you xx

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Bec Walters
    Dec 18, 2010 @ 00:44:17

    Thats beautiful…………….and I believe x

    Reply

  2. Steve Walters
    Dec 18, 2010 @ 00:51:57

    Hey Bethanage! Good to see you finally got your Blog up & running then.

    Really loved this first post, I hope it find followers and contributors alike.

    Just said to Bec, you’re a great writer – in particular, I find your writing style compelling; I don’t find much writers stuff compelling.

    So, you speak of belief, believe this too… You have an interesting writing style, I don’t say that lightly as I find myself reading lots of Blogs. At best the topic of one’s Blog/Article I stumble upon is often interesting at worst, is poorly written and without intersting topic to boot!

    Keep up the good work Bethanage.

    Once you get into writing your Blog Posts, you’ll then be ready to market them a little – whilst you mind thing “that’s not for me” you’ll find a nice buzz when people begin to comment.

    Simple Step 1 for getting your blog visited… share it via your Facebook!

    Simple Step 2… take part in another’s synergistic blog and give your blog a mention at the same time.

    Happy Blogging – all the best, a fan & friend – Steve. 🙂

    Reply

  3. donna773
    Dec 22, 2010 @ 03:24:14

    Hi Bethanage, As a grandmother of five and a lifelong cat lover myself – as well as being a professional journalist, I loved your little story about your kitten and also took note of Steve’s advice. I too have just started a blog at http://www.grumpyoldgran.com and on it you will find a bizarre tale of a freak meeting with a stranger who knew everything about me, and I knew everything about him. He is now one of my best friends – but we are both convinced the meeting was arranged by someone who died in the 1970s but whom we both knew. It’s headlined ‘Beyond belief: My close encounter of thee weird kind’. You really must read it and let me know what you think. Good luck with your blog. I am sure it will be a great success – and hope mine will be too!
    Donna x

    Reply

  4. Moira Pritchard
    Dec 25, 2010 @ 12:48:02

    That’s my mother you talk about there & I fully believe what you say. I feel her near me every day & as she was , not only a cat lover, but loved all animals. From saving birds & putting splints on their wings to hand rearing baby rabbits when their mother had rejected them. Thank you for this Bethan, your Grandmother was a very special lady & I’m sure she does look after Minnie & Cochen when you.re in work. Love Always Mam

    Reply

  5. Sarah Bennett
    Dec 30, 2010 @ 19:46:38

    It’s a great story told by a great story teller! I hope this inspires you to write more and more. I believe your Grandmother watches over and I believe that you will succeed!
    Sarah xx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

